Xi Upsilon Chapter:  Our Lady of the Lake University
Xi Upsilon Faculty Advisor:  Dr. Maribel Lárraga
Sigma Delta Pi National Web site: 

Our Lady of the Lake University is home to the Xi Upsilon chapter of Sigma Delta Pi,  National Collegiate Hispanic Honor Society, or Sociedad Nacional Honoraria Hispánica. 

Established in 1919, Sigma Delta Pi is the largest foreign-language society in existence and the only honor society devoted exclusively to students of Spanish in four-year colleges and universities.  

The OLLU chapter was founded in the early 1980s by the late Dr. José R. Miranda, a former Spanish professor who retired in May of 1997. 

Membership is based on academic excellence. Students who major or minor in Spanish and those in OLLU's biliterate program are eligible if they have a minimum 3.2 cumulative GPA.


Spring 2014  Inductees:
(Left to Right) Alicia Barrera, Angelica Casas, Tahiry Contreras, Diana Diaz, Cesar Rodriguez

  Spring 2013 Inductees:
(Left to Right) Edgar Ramos, Past President; Ana Federico, Secretary; Begoña De Ubieta, President; 2013 Inductees: Mariela Guzmán; David Alberto Romo, Emily Backus, Lorena Vera; Jessica Perez, Dr. Maribel Lárraga, Faculty Advisor; Professor Nina Patrizio-Quiñones; and Sammy Angel Lam 
  Spring 2012 Inductees:
Pictured: (from right to left) Norma Andrade, President for Sigma Delta Pi; Ana K. Federico; Begoña G. De Ubieta; Laura Bordallo; Jessie Rojas; Dulce Hernández; Adriana Lozano; Dr. Maribel Lárraga, Sigma Delta Pi Faculty Advisor  
   Spring 2011 Inductees: 
Front Row: (from right to left) Gennelle Fernández, Angelina Rogers, Edgar Ramos, Flor Salas and Anna Rodríguez

Back Row: (from right to left)  Estevan Rivas, Sigma Delta Pi; Elena González, Sigma Delta Pi; Professor Nina Patrizio-Quiñones, Dr. Antonio Rigual, Dr. Maribel Lárraga, Sigma Delta Pi Faculty Advisor, and Adrián Chávez, President for Sigma Delta Pi
   Spring 2010 Inductees: 
Front Row: (from right to left)  Dr. Maribel Lárraga, faculty adviser; Isabel Burwick, co-president; Norma D. Andrade, Jessica Gallardo, Gloria Flor Gloria, Katia Itzel Mendoza, Yeseña M. Guerra, and Adrián Chávez, co-president. 

Back Row:  María D. González, Cecilia Maldonado-Alvizo, Estevan Rivas,  Karla A. Vázquez, and Dr. Antonio Rigual, professor of Spanish
  Spring 2009 Inductees:
Pictured: (from left to right) Blanca Itzel Favela, Elena M. Gonzalez, Yadira E. Chavez, Molly Hynes, Adrian Chavez, Julie Velasquez, Gilbert Molleda and Dr. Maribel Larraga, Faculty Advisor for Sigma Delta Pi.
   Spring 2008 Inductees: 
Front row: (from right to left)  Dora E. 
García; Isabel Burwick; Samantha Rodríguez; PatriciaGonzález; Ruth C. Ramírez-Valle; and Dr. Maribel Lárraga, Faculty Advisor.

Back row: (from right to left) 
 Mariela Cox, Blanca Esquivel; Lizette Esquivel; and Johana

Click to see larger image
© Copyright 2014, Our Lady of the Lake University, 411 S.W. 24th St., San Antonio, TX 78207 | Tele: 210-434-6711