The following faculty in CDIS attended the Texas Speech-Language-Hearing Association 55th Annual Convention, Houston March 3-5 2011:

Mary Ann Acevedo, Ruth Fernandez, Kari Blaesing, Eva Nwokah, Yvette Lozano, Patsy Kimes, Chris Carmichael, and Toni Wilson

TSHA Presentations by faculty & students:

Karen Blaesing, Luisa Castillo, Wendy Elliot, Kelly Terrano, Michelle Mada
Primary Progressive aphasia: A case study

Christine Carmichael PhD CCC-SLP. "Effects of NMES and Bolus Size on Hyolaryngeal Activity." Presented at the International Dysphagia Research Society on March 3 (San Antonio), and at the Texas Speech-Language Hearing Association (TSHA) Annual State Convention on March 5 (Houston). This study was funded by an OLLU Faculty Scholarship Grant.

Dr. Karen Blaesing, Ms. Yvette Lozano, and student Karla Tinoco
stand in front
of the table display at TSHA.

Lidiette Guevara & Christine Carmichael,
Ph.D. CCC-SLP. (no photo) "Psychosocial and Speech Deficits in Children with Cleft Lip and Palate"

Ruth Fernandez participated as a member of the following committees:
  1. TSHA Task Force for Language Eligibility Guidelines for CLD students (co-author)
  2. TSHA Task Force for Language Eligibility Guidelines for General Populations (currently working on revised document)
  3. TSHA CLD Task Force for contributions to the CLD Corner of the journal Communicologist

Eva Nwokah, Stefanie Leafblad, Dora Hammer, Bianca Centeno, & Claudia Campirano, Humorous activities as support for language and creative thinking in children

Hillary Crane, Graduate Student,  received the Elizabeth Carrow Woolfolk Scholarship
Tracey Beicker, Graduate Student, received the San Antonio Speech-Language-Hearing Association Scholarship

© Copyright 2014, Our Lady of the Lake University, 411 S.W. 24th St., San Antonio, TX 78207 | Tele: 210-434-6711