The Center for Women in Church and Society is located in the beautiful and historic Elliott House on the campus of Our Lady of the Lake University. The Elliott House originally was built to serve as a live-in laboratory for college girls who majored in home economics. Today, the Elliott House is home to the Division of Mission and Ministry, including University Ministry, the Center for Women in Church and Society, and the offices of the Vice-President for Mission and Ministry, the Assistant to the Vice-President of Mission and Ministry, the Director of Mission Effectiveness, the Director of University Ministry, the Director of the Center for Women in Church and Society, and the Division of Mission and Ministry student employees.
The Elliott House has emerged as a gathering place for staff, faculty, students, and the Sisters of the Congregation of Divine Providence. The character, charm, and ambiance of the historic building creates an inviting space to read, research, and relax. Comfortable furnishings, vaulted ceilings, and a full service kitchen provide a warm and welcoming environment for meetings, study groups, or just to explore the centers’ resources.
Centrally located on campus, the Elliott House is just minutes from downtown San Antonio, is adjacent to Elmendorf Lake and within easy walking distance of Thiry Auditorium, the University Wellness and Activities Center, the University Bookstore, the inspiring Sacred Heart Chapel, the oak-covered campus Mall, and more.
Our Lady of the Lake University is rich in architectural elegance, with breathtaking neo-gothic buildings serving the educational and spiritual needs of the community. In 1895, construction began on the main campus of Our Lady of the Lake College. With its red roof and two distinctive spires, the beloved Main Building was the first structure erected. The façade of the Main Building has become well-known throughout the city. The extraordinary Main Building captures the history of the birth, growth, and maturity of the university. Main Building, the 1895 structure, was designed in Victorian Gothic by James Wahrenberger, as were St. Ann's Hall in 1907 and Moye Hall in 1920. The Gothic Conventual Chapel was designed by Leo M. J. Dielmann in 1923. It is renowned for its spires, Italian marble altars, and German stained glass windows.
Come enjoy your lunch in our lovely St. Anthony Courtyard, relax in the quiet comfort of the parlor, break bread around our kitchen table, take a stroll around the lake to feed the ducks, or admire some of the many art projects and exhibits featured throughout the year here in The Elliott House.
The Center is open Monday - Friday from 9 a. m. to 5 p. m. and is open to students to use as a study space during these hours.
Use of Center
Facilities at the Center, including kitchen and reception area, may be used by students, staff and faculty during the time the Center is open and the Center employees are present. The full-service kitchen seats 6 comfortably, and seating in the Reception Area can accommodate 30-35 people. Those using the Elliott House facilities must sign a contract. Inquiries about scheduling the facilities during or after hours should be directed to Roxanna Chavez at 434-6711 ext. 2193.