Conference Home


Submission of Posters and papers

Conference Schedule

Awards and Recognition 
Sponsorship Opportunities

Conference Hotel/Housing
Map and Directions
Contact Us

Awards and Recognition

Tepeyac Award: 
[Awarded annually on Dec. 12, in recognition of the Virgen de Guadalupe celebration]

The Center for Mexican American Studies and Research created an award to recognize an OLLU faculty or staff member who has made a significant contribution to our understanding and appreciation of a Mexican or Mexican American cultural tradition.

This award is named the “Tepeyac Award.” As many of you may know, Tepeyac is the name of the site in Mexico where Juan Diego encountered the Virgen de Guadalupe. This sacred site became the location of the Basilica de Guadalupe, one of the most visited Catholic shrines in the world.  Just as Tepeyac stood out on the hillsides in central Mexico, so too stands OLLU in the heart of San Antonio. We have our sacred and cultural spaces where many come to visit.

Award Recipients
        2013 - TBA
        2012 - Dr. John Nira 
        2011 - Dr. Maribel Larraga

In 2011, The OLLU Center for Mexican American Studies and Research (CMASR) created two awards to be given in conjunction with the annual conference. The “Maria Antonietta Berriozabal Visionary Leadership Award” and the “Sister Maria “MC” Flores Outstanding Student Scholar Award.” 

Awards are presented during the annual awards banquet and dinner. This year's awards banquet will be held Friday, March 28, 2014 at the Congregation of Divine Providence's Chapel Auditorium (adjacent to the Our Lady of the Lake University Main Building). This event is a celebration of the scholarly and creative works by students, faculty and community leaders.

M.A. Berriozabal Visionary Leadership Award:

The “Maria Antoinetta Berriozabal Visionary Leadership Award” is named after former San Antonio City Councilwoman who served the community with dedication, commitment and integrity. OLLU is also pleased to have been selected to keep her documents in our Special Collections.

The award 
was created to recognize either a higher education faculty/staff member or a member of the community who bridges education and community.

Recipients of this award must demonstrate evidence of:
  • Providing effective visionary leadership and risk taking that supports educational advancement within the community, especially for underserved students. 
  • Providing leadership to advance the cause of social justice in the community. Award
Award Recipients:
  • 2013 - Al Kauffman
  • 2012 – Rosie Castro
  • 2011 – Dr. Antonio Rigual

Sister Maria "MC" Flores Outstanding Student Scholar Award

The Mexican American Studies and Research Conference was first conceived in 2002 by Maria Eva Flores, CDP, PhD, as an event to showcase undergraduate research at OLLU. Sister Flores served as the Director of the CMASR from 2001-2010. The CMASR created this award to show our appreciation of Sister Flores while also recognizing an outstanding undergraduate scholar.

The award is a cash prize bestowed upon an undergraduate student for the best paper presented at the annual CMASR Conference. All presentations are judged by a panel of academics within and outside the University.

Award Recipients:

  • 2013 - Sara Santiago and Angelina Rodgers 
  • 2012 – Veronica Garay, Psychology

For more Information on these awards or the awards banquet, please contact:

Center for Mexican American Studies and Research (CMASR)
Our Lady of the Lake University
Moye Hall, Room 110 
411 S.W. 24th Street
San Antonio, Texas 78207-4689
Phone: 210-431-4148

Center for Mexican American Studies & Research Center  | E-mail: | Phone: 210-434-6711, Ext. 4148

© Copyright 2014, Our Lady of the Lake University, 411 S.W. 24th St., San Antonio, TX 78207 | Tele: 210-434-6711